Reading List

on

Agghhhh I’m supposed to be revising but I could not just go any longer I HAD TO go online and find out what everyone’s been up to, been using and doing, you know all that good stuff. If you want a little update on me I am at a critical point with my exams, every minute counts… But here I am on the blog. BUt I have been revising and one of the places I was revising at happened to be an English classroom which had such a list of books that students should read. My college is pretty amazing and I trust that these books will be enticing and inspirational; books for thought. So for me and now for you too (if you want) a list of classic books to read then here you go!

Bold for bought and strike through if I’ve read it!

  • 1984 by George Orwell
  • A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
  • A Severed Head by Iris Murdoch
  • Animal Farm by George Orwell
  • Ariel by Sylvia Plath
  • Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
  • Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
  • Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote
  • Brighton Rock by Graham Greene
  • Catch 22 by Joseph Heller
  • Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevky
  • Doors of Perception by Aldous Huxley
  • Fahrenheit 451 by Bradbury
  • Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad
  • Howl by Allen Ginsberg
  • In Cold Blood by Truman Capote
  • Lord of the Flies by William Golding
  • Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabirel Marcia Marquez
  • Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka
  • On Photography by Susan Sontag
  • On the Road by Jack Kerouac
  • One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey
  • Oranges Aren’t the Only Fruit by Jeanette Winterson
  • Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man by James Joyce
  • Promiscuities by Naomi Wolf
  • Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut
  • Steppenwolf by Herman Hesse
  • The Beauty Myth by Naomi Wolf
  • The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler
  • The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter
  • The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison
  • The Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger
  • The Cement Garden by Ian McEwan
  • The Female Eunuch by Germain Greer
  • The Grass is Singing by Doris Lessing
  • The Lonely Londoners by Sam Selvon
  • The Outsider by Albert Camus
  • The Picture of Dorian Grey by Oscar Wilde
  • The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie by Muriel Spark
  • The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera
  • The Wasp Factory by Iain Banks
  • The Women’s Room by Marilyn French
  • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  • Trainspotting by Irving Welsh
  • Zen and Art of Motorcycle Maintenance by Robert Pirsig

Give me some time I will get through this, whether it was a one time read or bought book I’ll be sure to update this list often of my journey. Have you read any of these, which would you recommend first? Let me know!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Books N Me says:

    I’ve read Animal Farm, The Catcher in the Rye & Metamorphosis.
    Since you’ve already read Animal Farm, I would like you to keep The Catcher in the Rye on the top of others.
    And Metamorphosis you can keep delaying… 😅

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Shazeda says:

      Lool ahh okay I’m currently reading Catch 22 which is just the most dense book ever but really interesting but I will add The Catcher in the Rye to my Amazon basket!! (gonna go see if you have a review on it =p )

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Books N Me says:

        Please do.
        If you fail to find mine amongst the many reviews over there, you may look for it on my blog. =)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

